Skip to main content

UCA Library Blog

New: College Edition Social and Behavioral Science Journals

by Chrissy Karafit on 2019-10-16T11:48:37-05:00 in Communication, New Resources, Health Science, Economics, Psychology, Information Technology, Biology | Comments

Logo for Science Direct platformThe UCA Library is pleased to announce access to Elsevier’s College Edition Social and Behavioral Sciences journal collection, a new online package available as of October 1, 2019. The package provides full-text article access to approximately 500 scholarly journal titles, covering topics including but not limited to biology, communication, economics, food science, health science, information science, psychology, sociology, and urban studies.

The decision to purchase this journal package came as a result of evaluating article turnaway statistics from the Science Direct platform. Turnaway statistics record the number of times per title that UCA students and faculty attempt to access non-licensed articles, when users are “turned away” from the full-text article. Many of the Science Direct titles with high turnaways and high interlibrary loan requests in 2018, such as Social Science & Medicine and Personality and Individual Differences, are included in the College Edition package.

The new Elsevier journals are indexed and searchable in the OneSearch discovery tool. Thanks to IP authentication, on-campus users can freely access subscribed Elsevier journal content through OneSearch or the Science Direct platform. However, off-campus users will need to log in using their MyUCA credentials and use OneSearch to access full-text Elsevier College Edition articles.  Because not all Science Direct content is accessible, and the publisher platform does not allow limiting search results to full text only, we recommend using OneSearch to find full-text articles.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...