Skip to main content

UCA Library Blog

Beyond Scholarly Articles: Online Study and Research Tools You Don't Know About

by Elizabeth DiPrince on 2019-10-24T08:30:00-05:00 in United States History, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Exercise & Sports Science | Comments

When considering the online resources available in the library, many users only think of our numerous article databases. The library though offers other resources for research and study that go beyond the standard journal article collections. 

‚ÄčOvid Visual Body: Human Anatomy Atlas is a great study aid which provides comprehensive male and female 3D gross anatomy models. These models can be manipulated easily by using your computer mouse or touch screen. You can zoom and rotate the images and see interactive animations of muscle and bone movements. This resource also provides select microanatomy of tissues and organs, cadaver slices and diagnostic images, and study aids such as quizzes and lab activities. The resource works on both computers and mobile devices, but it does take a few minutes to load the first time you download it on a device. 

Very Short Introductions is a collection of short ebooks from Oxford University Press that provide introductions to a wide range of academic subjects. Each title covers one topic written by an expert but for an audience with little or no familiarity to the topic/subject. These books are a great way to fully introduce yourself to a topic, especially when you need more information than provided in a traditional reference resource. 

Women and Social Movements is a collection of primary and secondary sources documenting the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. It contains books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies to document women's reform movements. You can browse this resource by people, social movements, and time period, and it provides a rich view of this history. 

These are just a few of our non-standard online resources. Check out the other UCA Library blog posts about Mango Languages, Social Explorer, and Digital Theater Plus to learn more about the library’s unique online resources.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...