Skip to main content

UCA Library Blog

Welcome Back and Get Ready for a Great Spring Semester!

by Elizabeth DiPrince on 2020-01-09T10:18:00-06:00 | Comments

Welcome back! It is always exciting to start a new semester and we like to use this time to remind you of some of the many services and resources the library has available.

 

The Library for Studying 

The library offers a number of resources and spaces to help make your Spring semester a successful one. Here are just a few:

Textbooks: We work to get textbooks for as many classes as we can. To use one of these textbooks, all you need to do is come to the Circulation Desk with the title of your textbook and your BearCard. Textbooks can be used in the library for up to two hours. 

Calculators, laptops, and bones: At the Circulation Desk you can also borrow non-book resources that can help you with your classwork. These include technology items like graphing calculators, laptops, and headphones. We even have skeleton models to help study anatomy. Again bring your BearCard to the Circulation Desk to borrow these items.  

Study rooms: We have study rooms to fit your study needs and mood. On the second floor, we have a number of small study rooms that can be used for one or two people. On the first floor, there are medium size study rooms which can be used by groups of three to five students. Lastly, we have large study rooms (two on the second floor and five on the first floor) reserved for groups of five to eight students. All study rooms are first come first served. To access the large study rooms, at least five members of the group must be present and a staff member from the Circulation Desk will unlock it for you. 

 

The Library for Research

The Library has a large collection of books and online resources for your research needs. 

Online Resources: Visit the library web page to access our wide range of online resources. You can use OneSearch or visit the Databases A to Z page to find a subject specific database for your topic.

Interlibrary Loan: If you are needing that one resource that the library doesn’t have available, remember we can generally get it for you through our interlibrary loan service. All you need to do is set up a password, and your account is ready for you to submit requests. Most articles and book chapters are delivered electronically with a short turnaround time.

Librarians: Whether you are just getting started with your research or if you have hit a roadblock, the library has a number of research professionals ready to help. You can visit us at the Reference Desk, send in an Ask Us email, or Schedule an Appointment and we can help get you on the right track. 

 

The Library for Fun

The Library offers resources when you need a break from study and research.

Graphic Novels: The library has a large graphic novel collection with a wide range of titles. Located near the large study rooms on the first floor, these books can be borrowed for 28 days or you can read one while in the library.

DVDs: Another fun collection in the library is our DVD collection. This collection, located near Starbucks, has a wide range of popular feature films, world cinema, and TV series. You can borrow seven DVDs at a time for seven days.

Puzzles: For a great relaxing activity, the library offers puzzles. If you want to sit and work on one in the library, there is always a couple of puzzles that anyone can help work on located next to the Reference Desk. If you would rather take a puzzle home to work on, you can now borrow a puzzle from our collection, which can be found in area next to the Reference Desk and also next to the Graphic Novel collection. 

We look forward to seeing you in the Library, and we hope you have a great semester!


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...