Skip to Main Content

PSYC 1300 - General Psychology

Database Basics

A library database:

  • Is an organized collection of research resources that may include:
    • Academic/Scholarly/Peer-reviwed journal articles
    • Newspaper and/or magazine articles
    • Books and/or ebooks
    • Reference sources
    • Video, images, or other media
  • Is searchable by different access points, including:
    • Keyword
    • Author
    • Article title or publication title
    • Subject heading
  • May contain full-text access to articles OR may index articles (meaning only the citation and abstract are available)
    • most databases provide indexing AND some or all full-text
  • Is not the same thing as Google
    • Google is a search engine, not a database

Why are there so many databases?

  • Each of our databases is unique in the type of content it offers, how it looks, and/or the subjects it covers. Our goal is to make sure that we have enough journals, articles, books, etc. to support all of the research done here at UCA. This doesn't mean we have access to everything ever created, but we do carefully choose our databases to make sure we have coverage for most topics.

How do you avoid getting lost?
Switching from database to database can be disorienting (the don't all look the same or search the same things), but it gets easier with practice. Try out some of these tips if you are feeling lost:

  • Try OneSearch; it searches many different databases at once!
  • Use a multi-disciplinary database such as Academic Search Complete or ProQuest Central.
  • Learn which databases are most relevant to your major or course. Many of the Psychology specific databases are listed below. You can also use our other subject guides to find databases for other fields.
  • Ask a Librarian! We'll be happy to point you in the right direction.

Many of our databases have full-text articles available. If you see a link to HTML full-text, PDF full-text, or both, you have immediate access to the content. Here's an example of what the button may look like if you have immediate full-text access:

HTML and PDF full text buttons

 

Sometimes, you will have full-text access to an article, but it will be in another database, separate from the one you are working in. In this case, you will need to click on the Full Text Finder link in order to go to the database with full-text access. That button looks like this:

Full Text Finder button

 

NOTE: Do you know the difference between an HTML version of a document and a PDF? The PDF is a scanned, electronic version of the document that you can download. It will look identical to how the article originally appeared in print. The HTML version is a computer-formatted transcript of the article. The HTML version might not have page numbers, charts, graphs, or other images, but the PDF will.

Found the perfect article, but can't find a full-text link?

For articles not available as full-text, interlibrary loan (ILL) is the easiest option available. ILL is a service where library staff contacts other libraries to borrow resources. With ILL, you do not have to visit another library as books are delivered to our library, and articles are delivered to you electronically. To place a request you will need to have an ILLiad account, which requires a one-time registration of a username and password. Once you have an account you can place requests, view request status, and access requested articles.

Tips for using Interlibrary Loan:

  • Make sure our library doesn’t have it.  Always check our library catalog for books and our Publication Finder for articles. If you need help using either of these tools stop by the Reference Desk or call 501-450-5224.

  • Make sure you have enough time. The interlibrary loan process takes time with books taking 5 to 7 days and articles taking 1 to 5 days to arrive.

  • Provide as much information about the book or article that you can. Interlibrary loan staff can process requests faster if they have the most complete information.

  • Check your email. Interlibrary loan staff will contact you with questions and/or let you know when your requested item arrives through email. When you register for ILLiad, provide an email address that you check regularly.

  • Download your article PDF. In order to remain in copyright compliance, the PDF of the article must be erased from our servers after 30 days. We can re-order it for you, but it will take another 1-5 days to receive the article. It is much easier for you to download it to your own computer, so you always have access.

Log in using your myUCA username and password. Once logged in, you will be redirected to the selected item and will remain logged in until you close your browser, even if you switch between library resources. As with our old system, when you are on campus, our system will recognize you and grant immediate access.

If you are having trouble with your username and password, you will need to visit the IST Password Self Service site or call the IST Help Desk at 501-450-3107 to address those issues.

While it is no longer used to access resources off-campus, the Library PIN is still allows you to access your library account. From your library account, you can view and renew items you currently have checked out. For more information see Access Your Library Account.

If you have any questions or are unable to access any of our resources, please contact the Reference Desk at 501-450-5224.

Recommended Psychology Databases

NOTE: You can access these and more databases as the library website by visitng uca.edu/library and clicking on the purple Databases button!

General Databases

chat loading...