Gender Studies
Research resources selected for the Gender Studies minor
Key Journals
- American Ethnologist Access: 02/01/1974 - present (Full Text Delay: 8 years) A journal concerning 'ethnology,' including articles concerning ecology, economy, social organization, ethnicity, politics, ideology, personality, cognition, ritual, symbolism and cosmology.
- American Journal of Public Health Access: 01/01/1911 - present Articles of original research, research methods, program evaluations, analytic reviews, including health policy analysis and reports on health policy.
- American Journal of Sociology Access: 07/01/1895 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year) Features articles, review articles and substantial numbers of book reviews in all areas of sociology.
- The Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science Access: 07/01/1890 - present (Full Text Delay: 4 years) Established in 1889 to promote the progress of social sciences, the American Academy of Political and Social Science created a forum in which research on contemporary political, economic, and social issues can help inform public policy as well as enlighten the intellectually curious.
- Arion: A Journal of Humanities and the Classics Access: 04/01/1962 - present (Full Text Delay: 4 years) The accessibility of Arion to non-specialist readers deeply interested in the core values of Western culture is one of Arion‘s primary aims. At the same time, Arion is available in most of the world’s best libraries because we demand the highest standards of scholarship from our contributors, whether these are prominent or simply promising scholars. Some of the best works in classics have had their start in Arion.
- Art Bulletin Access: 09/01/1919 - present The Art Bulletin publishes leading scholarship in the English language in all aspects of art history as practiced in the academy, museums, and other institutions.
- Berkeley Journal of Sociology Access: 10/01/1959 - present (Full Text Delay: 4 years) The Berkeley Journal of Sociology is run by a collective of graduate students from the UC Berkeley Department of Sociology. It seeks to contribute to the “history of the present” by publishing critical sociological perspectives on current social, economic, political, and environmental issues.
- Hypatia: A Journal of Feminist Philosophy Access: 04/01/1986 - present (Full Text Delay: 6 years) Articles intended to encourage and communicate many different kinds of feminist philosophy.
- Journal of Counseling and Development Access: 09/01/1984 - present (Full Text Delay: 1 year) Articles of interest aimed at counselors, counseling psychologists & student personnel specialists who work in schools, colleges, community agencies & government.
- Journal of Gender Studies Access: 11/01/1993 - present (Full Text Delay: 18 months) Interdisciplinary journal publishing articles relating to gender from a feminist perspective.
- Journal of Homosexuality Access: 01/01/2000 - present (Full-Text Delay: 18 months) Scholarly research on homosexuality, including sexual practices and gender roles and their historical, interpersonal and modern social contexts and provides a forum for both essentialist and social constructionist views of homosexuality.
- Journal of Sex Research Access: 03/01/1965 - present (Full Text Delay: 18 months) Publishes articles relevant to the variety of disciplines involved in the scientific study of sexuality.
- Social Work and Social Sciences Review Access: 05/01/2012 - present Exploring a variety of areas in the social sciences, particularly with relevance to the development of social work knowledge.
- Studies in Iconography Access: 01/01/1993 - present (Full Text Delay: 4 years) dedicated to publishing innovative work on iconography and other aspects of visual culture of the period up to 1600.
- Topoi: An International Review of Philosophy Access: 01/01/1997 - present Publishes articles, reviews and discussions of philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- Wisconsin Journal of Law, Gender & Society Access: 01/01/2006 - present Contains articles that examine the intersection of law and gender with issues of race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, and sexual orientation.
What is a Database?
A library database is, essentially, a digital container for published materials. Most commonly, databases include journal, newspaper, and magazine articles. They may also contain books, book chapters, video, and audio files.
Databases follow a highly structured organization scheme based on subject classifications (called Subject Terms). This allows for precise searching, but also requires persistence to refine a search strategy. See Creating a Search Strategy for more information.
Starting Points
For interdisciplinary topics including cultural studies and political aspects:
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR is a collection of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics digitized in most cases back to the first date of issue. The focus of these collections are archival back issues and most recent issues are not available.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides access to academic full-text articles humanities and social sciences.
Social Sciences:
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides academic abstracts and full-text articles in the social sciences.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a mix of full text and abstracts on sociology topics, including gender studies.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis database gives you access to more than 3 million records from peer-reviewed resources that cover mental health and behavioral sciences. This is not a full-text database, but it is an ideal place to discover scholarly research.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from highly-cited and landmark psychology journals.
Health Sciences:
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides access to academic and professional articles and abstracts in nursing and health sciences.
- Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides access to consumer-oriented articles about health and wellness.
- Health Source Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new windowContains full-text and abstracts for consumer health periodicals as well as health-related pamphlets, reference books, and drug monographs.
- Medline Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and other health science fields.