Asian Studies
Overview
The Vietnamese Independence movement began in 1941 with Hồ Chí Min founding and creating the Viet Nam Doc Lap Dong Minh Hoi, League for the Independence of Vietnam, which was better known as the Việt Minh. After the abdication of Emperor Bảo Đại, who was essentially a puppet for the Japanese, Hồ Chí Min declared Vietnam as the Democratic Republic of Vietnam (DRV for short). Within 20 days, the French overthrew the DRV. Hồ Chí Min and the French held several discussions in regards to the future of Vietnam but there was no solution offered. In December 1946, a full blown war had begun.
In 1949 the French restored Emperor Bảo Đại to power in an attempt to stabilize Indochina, referring to it as the State of Vietnam. On July 21,1954 the Geneva Conference was attempting to tie any loose strings. It was decided that the northern half of Vietnam would go to the Việt Minh and the southern half would continue under Emperor Bảo Đại. In a year’s time, Emperor Bảo Đại was once again removed from power, this time by his Prime Minister; Ngô Đình Diệm. Diệm wished for a Republic with himself as the President. The voting was revealed to be fraudulent as there was a 98.2% favor of a Republic. The total number of votes compared to those registered to vote was off by 386,067. I’m not a math major, but even I know that’s WAY off. As Diệm’s government grew into control, insurgency began between the two sides and it gradually escalated into the Vietnam War by 1955.
Key terms
First Indochina War - War between France and Vietnam from 1946-1954, Vietnam trying to gain independence from French colonialism
Viet Minh - Communist political organization formed by Ho Chi Minh and supported by China and the Soviet Union, fighting against colonialism
Geneva Accords - agreements from Geneva Conference in 1954, stating France would withdraw troops from Vietnam, who would become an independent nation. Vietnam was split in 2 halves until 1956
Ho Chi Minh - most important nationalist independence leader in Vietnam, founder of Viet Minh in 1941, president of North Vietnam 1945-1969. Communist ideas influenced by Mao Zedong, Karl Marx, and V.I. Lenin
Print Sources
Vietnam : state, war, and revolution, (1945-1946) by Call Number: Ebook CollectionPublication Date: 2013-04-15Amidst the revolutionary euphoria of August 1945, most Vietnamese believed that colonialism and war were being left behind in favor of independence and modernization. The late-September British-French coup de force in Saigon cast a pall over such assumptions. Ho Chi Minh tried to negotiate a mutually advantageous relationship with France, but meanwhile told his lieutenants to plan for a war in which the nascent state might have to survive without allies. In this landmark study, David Marr evokes the uncertainty and contingency as well as coherence and momentum of fast-paced events. Mining recently accessible sources in Aix-en-Provence and Hanoi, Marr explains what became the largest, most intense mobilization of human resources ever seen in Vietnam.
Vietnam 1946 : how the war began by Call Number: DS553.1 .T67 2010Publication Date: 2009-11-03Based on multiarchival research conducted over almost three decades, this landmark account tells how a few men set off a war that would lead to tragedy for millions. Stein Tønnesson was one of the first historians to delve into scores of secret French, British, and American political, military, and intelligence documents. In this fascinating account of an unfolding tragedy, he brings this research to bear to disentangle the complex web of events, actions, and mentalities that led to thirty years of war in Indochina. As the story unfolds, Tønnesson challenges some widespread misconceptions, arguing that French general Leclerc fell into a Chinese trap in March 1946, and Vietnamese general Giap into a French trap in December. Taking us from the antechambers of policymakers in Paris to the docksides of Haiphong and the streets of Hanoi, Vietnam 1946 provides the most vivid account to date of the series of events that would make Vietnam the most embattled area in the world during the Cold War period.
Digital Sources
Digital sources such as eBooks and scholarly journal articles can be found through Torreyson Library's wide selection of databases. Below is a link to all of the UCA databases available, as well as some recommended selections.
Select Digital Sources
Listed below are several sources discussing the independence of Vietnam in the context of the Indochinese wars.
- French and American Attitudes Toward Vietnamese Independence by Khalid MahmoodPakistan Horizon Vol. 38, No. 2 (1985), pp. 61-83
This piece explains the justifications France and America provided for their invasions on Vietnam. The driving force of nationalism and how it became that force in Vietnam is explained. It also provides the western views on Vietnam declaring independence; France denied and ignored it, while America had mixed views. The effects and actions deriving from those views are given. - The Indo-Chinese StrugglePakistan Horizon 7, No. 3 (1954), pp. 128, 130-134
This article explains how foreign countries mingled in during this time of war, specifically China, Japan, and France. After the war, Ho Chi Minh allowed France back into the country, as France recognized the Republic of Vietnam, but there were still disputes. While this document provides the terms on which Vietnam proclaimed its independence, the events that followed show the war may not have been effective in being recognized as a unified state. - In Search of Grandeur: France and Vietnam 1940-1946 by Clarke W. GarrettThe Review of Politics Vol. 29, No. 3 (1967), pp. 303-323
This source provides the historical context that led to France and Vietnam entering a full war. French occupancy in Asia was on the downfall, and the lack of colonial policy was the cause. This source digs into the problems faced by Vietnam and France. - Triumphs or Tragedies: A New Perspective on the Vietnamese Revolution by Tuong VuJournal of Southeast Asian Studies Vol. 45, No. 2 (2014), pp. 236-257
This journal article argues that the 1945-1946 Vietnam war was a nationalist revolution. It provides evidence explaining it was a war of class and mindset. This had consequences of the intensity of the war and ultimately the outcome.
Primary Sources
- The Crisis In IndochinaA CIA Report summarizing the struggle for Vietnamese Independence from an American point of view.
Digital Archives
- Texas Tech University's The Vietnam Center & Sam Johnson Vietnam ArchiveThis archive provides great resources and primary sources and accounts from both Vietnam Independence and the later Vietnam War. It includes sources such as research notes, broadcasts, and photos.
- The Wilson Center Digital Archive: The Indochinese WarThis digital archive focuses only on Vietnamese Independence and the Indochinese War. It hosts a wide variety of primary sources such as telegrams and conversation minutes.