How To...
How To...
Learn the library through step-by-step instructions for successful research strategies.
Start Searching Use Keywords Identify Resource Types Evaluate Sources Search Databases Cite a Resource
How to Start Searching
Go to the Library web page
Enter keywords into the box and click the Search button.
Limit your results
Filters for refining your results are available on the left side. To limit by format, select Book or Article, Chapter. Other filter options include publication date, subject area, and language.
Access the resource
- For articles, ebooks, other digital resources ⇒ click on the view/access button.
- Books, DVDs, other physical resources ⇒ use the location and call number to find the item in the library.
Organize your research
Use the Cite button to view citation information and the Share button to save the permalink to the resource record.
Improve your search
- Use ti: for a title search, au: for an author search, or combine keywords with an AND.
- Click the Chat with a Librarian icon to get help with your keywords.
- Expand the search by selecting Libraries Worldwide to see resources available at other libraries.
Get your stuff
- Click on the resource title for full access options.
- Place a Hold on books, and we'll get them for you.
- Access resources from other libraries by placing an interlibrary loan request.
- Sign in to MyAccount to save searches, check interlibrary loan requests, and the status of checked-out books.
TIP!
This search also works for finding audiobooks, DVDs, music recordings, etc.
How to Use Keywords
Rather than whole sentences, refine your topic into a few key terms or short phrases.
Identify Key Concepts
Start by writing out your topic and underlining the main concepts.
Topic: Should books be banned in schools?
Brainstorm Synonyms and Related Terms
Make a list of your terms so you don't forget.
| KEYWORDS | RELATED TERMS |
|---|---|
| Books | Fiction Nonfiction Young Adult Graphic Novels |
| Banned | Censorship Freedom to Read Restricted Access |
| Schools | K-12 Elementary Secondary |
Combining Keywords
Unlock the full power of your keywords by combining them using these operators.
To narrow your search, use:
AND: find items about both dogs AND cats
NOT: find items about dogs, but EXCLUDE those that discuss cats.
To broaden your search, use:
OR: find items about dogs, items about cats, and items that discuss BOTH
Use an Asterisk
An asterisk * can help you search variations of your keyword.
Example: beaut* finds beauty, beautiful, beautification, etc.
How to Identify Resource Types
Do you need...
- Content written by an expert? Choose scholarly articles from journals and academic book chapters in print or online.
- Information on a current event or trend? Choose articles from newspapers, academic journals, magazines, and reliable sources.
- General information? Choose entries in print or online reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, or almanacs.
- In-depth exploration of a broad topic? Choose a book or ebook.
- Or primary sources? Choose letters, diaries, speeches, and historical newspapers located in books, databases, and archives.
How to Evaluate Sources
Feeling lost? Use this Research RADAR Tool to help determine source quality.
| R | Rationale | What is the purpose of this source? Is there a bias? Is language objective or emotional? |
| A | Authority | What do you know about the author and their area of expertise? Is the source peer-reviewed? |
| D | Date | When was the information published? Is there newer information available? |
| A | Accuracy | Are statements verified by other sources? Can you access the supporting documentation? |
| R | Relevance | How does this source related to your research? Can you understand the information presented? |
Research Alert
This is meant to be a guideline. Remember certain aspects may vary by your subject, professor's expectations, and assignment objectives.
How to Search Databases
To locate the best database for your research, click the A to Z Databases link on the library web page.Selecting a database
Popular databases
Academic Search Complete and ProQuest Central are good places to start and they cover a wide variety of subjects.
Specific databases
If you know what you need, choose from an alphabetical list.
If you don't know what you need, use the dropdown menus to sort databases by the following:
- Subject (biology, history, business, etc.)
- Database Type (newspaper, primary sources, image, etc.)
Still not sure which database to use?
Use the 24/7 Chat with a librarian service to get a recommendation.
Make the databases work for you!
Use your keywords.
Enter one word or short phrase per box.
Search by field.
Click on the dropdown menus to choose where to look for search terms.
Example: search in the abstract, article title, article text, etc.
Limit your results by:
- Publication date
- Scholarly/peer-reviewed journals
- Full-text availability
- Language
- Type of document
Use organizational tools.
Databases provide tools to save or email articles, print, and get citations.
Research Alert
Most UCA Library resources are reserved for our students and faculty. Therefore, you will need to use your myUCA login information to access these resources off-campus.
How to Cite a Resource
Why do you need to cite a resource?
Plagiarism is presenting someone else's ideas as your own. This is academic dishonesty and can result in penalties such as failing grades, expulsion, etc.
What do you need to cite a resource?
Be sure to save this information when selecting a source.
- Author
- Title
- Publisher
- Date
- Page numbers
Style Guides
Style guides instruct on the proper formatting of different citations. The most common style guides are:
- MLA (Modern Language Association)
- APA (American Psychological Association)
- Chicago Manual of Style
- Turabian Style
The library has many style manuals and tools that can help create citations. Ask at the front desk for assistance.