Library A-Z

  Essentials for your research adventures.

 Archives  Articles  Books  Borrowing  Call Numbers  Children's Books  Computers  Databases  Interlibrary Loan (ILL)  Journals  Library Fee  Music  Newspapers  Printing  Study Space  Textbooks

   When you write a research paper, many of your sources will be articles published in print or online journals.

Often your professor will require the use of scholarly or peer-reviewed journal articles in your research.

Scholarly articles are:

• Written by a specialist in the field of study;
• Approved by an editorial board prior to publication;
• Published in journals;
• Supported by an extensive list of works cited;
• Targeted to an audience of researchers and professionals;
• Searchable in online databases.

 Research Alert

Not all articles in databases are scholarly. Content can include newspapers, magazines, videos, blogs, etc. Use filters such as source type or peer-reviewed for scholarly articles.

   Whether you need something for fun or research, the library has many options.

How to find books in the library

1. Use the search box on the library webpage to search for library books, audiobooks, textbooks, or ebooks.
2. Search for resources by keyword, author, or title.

   Use ti: for a title search, au: for an author search, or combine keywords with an AND.

3. View the results. Each resource has its own record that provides information about the item and how to access it.
4. On the record take note of the location and call number.

   If the title is available as an ebook, click on the button to view the full text.

   Most items in the UCA Library are organized by the Library of Congress Call Number System.

Library of Congress

The system is organized into three parts. Finding an item with its call number is like using an address to find a house.

   A database is a tool for finding articles, streaming media, primary sources, etc.

Databases allow you to search for articles by different criteria, such as subject, author, title, journal, publication date, etc.

Searching a database is different from the internet!

• Databases let you limit your search to retrieve only peer-reviewed articles to find the most scholarly information.
• Most scholarly articles cannot be found full-text through an internet search.
• If you find an article without full text, use the citation to request it from another library through interlibrary loan.

For more information see How to Search Databases.

Don't know which database to use?

Use subject or type menus on the A-Z Databases page. You can also get help via 24/7 Chat with a Librarian or visit the Reference Desk.

   Interlibrary loan is a service available to all students in which books, articles, and other resources are borrowed from other libraries.

Making a request

• You automatically have an interlibrary loan account. No setup required.
• Use the Interlibrary Loan link from the library webpage or access My Account through the Quick Links menu.
• Log in using your MyUCA information.

How it works

• Books take 7 to 12 days to arrive and can be picked up at the library's front desk.
• Articles take 1 to 5 days to arrive and will be posted on your library account.
• You will be contacted by email when requested items arrive.
• Interlibrary loan can scan and deliver articles or chapters from the library's print collection.

   Academic journals are where you will find many of the sources you need to write a research paper.

What are journals?

Journals are information sources that may be published annually, monthly, or even weekly, and so they are sometimes called periodicals or serials. Journals can be published in print, online, or both.

Scholarly journals primarily publish articles that are peer-reviewed, meaning the content is backed by research and is considered reliable by experts in the field.

Finding journals

If you are looking for a specific journal title,

1. Enter the title in the search box on the library webpage.
2. Limit results to the format of Journal, Magazine.
3. If it's available online, click the Access Journal button.
4. If it's available in print, click on the title to see call number and location information.

If you need scholarly articles on a specific topic, but not a specific journal, see How to Search Databases.

   The library fee is $3 per credit hour and is applied to your overall tuition and fees payment.

How does this benefit you?

Some of the many perks include:

• $5 of pre-paid prints loaded on your BearCard every semester
• Expanded database access
• Textbooks
• Electronic equipment, such as laptops, scanners, projectors, etc.

Where can I find out more information about this?

Contact the library director for more details about how the fee is used to support library services.

Reach out to your SGA representatives to give them input and feedback about the library fee.

  Music resources and equipment are located on the 2nd floor.

Resources available

• Music reference materials
• Musical scores
• Music media including CDs, LPs, cassettes, etc.
• DVDs of musical performances
• UCA Music Department recitals

Using the music collection

In the music room, equipment is available to listen to and/or view musical works in various formats. If the room is closed, please visit the front desk.

For more information, click on the Music Collection link from the Collections menu on the library webpage.

The library has many national, regional, and local newspapers in print and online.  

For a detailed list of newspaper titles and formats available, click on Newspapers link from the Collections menu on the library webpage.

Current print newspaper subscriptions include:

• Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (also on microfilm)
• The Echo
• Log Cabin Democrat
• The New York Times

The historical newspaper collection includes:

Historical newspapers provide primary sources and first-hand accounts of historical events.

• Arkansas Gazette (microfilm): 1819-1991
• The Echo (microfilm): 1909-1982
• Log Cabin Democrat (microfilm): 1908-2019
• The New York Times (online): 1851-present

 Research Alert

Microform readers can be found on the second floor of the library. If you need help, please make an appointment using the library's online scheduler.

  Printing and copying in the library costs 5¢ per page for black & white and 50¢ for color. You have $5 of pre-paid prints loaded on your BearCard every semester.

How to print from the library computers

1. Open the document and select Print.
2. Check settings in printing properties, i.e. paper orientation, 1- or 2- sided printing, and page size.
3. Select printer as Library Black&White or Library Color and click Print.
4. A box will pop up; enter your 9-digit BearCard number and select Enter.
5. Find an open printing station.
6. Tap your mobile BearCard on the card reader, select your print jobs on the computer monitor, and click Submit.

Tips:

• A copy machine is available near the front desk.
• Printing is not available from personal laptops.
• After pre-paid printing funds are spent, you can use BearBucks to pay for printing.
• Visit the front desk for help.