LibGuides: Nursing: Databases

Using Public Databases

Public databases such as PubMed and Google Scholar are great for searching literature. However, they don't always connect to UCA-provided databases. To access items found from public or internet sources, follow these steps:

Copy the title of the resource and paste it into the search box on the library homepage.
- For a more accurate search, put the title in quotation marks.
- You can also add the journal title or author name using AND.
If UCA has access to the resource, click either the Access Online or View Full Text button to see your access options.
If UCA does not have access to the resource (it does not appear in search results) use the filter options on the left to select Libraries Worldwide.
- Request the item by clicking on the article title and selecting Request via Document Delivery or Interlibrary Loan.

Suggested Databases

Major Nursing Databases

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic and professional articles and abstracts in nursing and health sciences.
Full-text content is available in PDF and HTML formats. Access includes complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. In addition to academic journals, content includes health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Medline Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic and professional abstracts and articles in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and other topics in the health care fields.
Full-text content available in PDF format with coverage from 1857-present. Content is indexed using Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
Ovid Health Resources This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic and professional articles and abstracts in the fields of clinical medicine, behavioral and social sciences, life sciences, and nursing.
Full-text content is available in PDF format.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to open access indexing and abstracts in the subjects of medicine and health sciences.

Clinical Databases

UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic, professional, and evidence-based content for patient care.
Usage Notes: UCA login required on and off-campus. Registration required for mobile device access.

EBSCO Clinical Ebook Collection

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides academic, general knowledge, and news articles and abstracts in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
This is a great resource if you are starting your research or if your topic crosses different disciplines. Full text is available in PDF and HTML formats.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Provides academic, general knowledge, and newspaper articles and abstracts in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
This is a great resource if you are starting your research or if your topic crosses different disciplines. Full-text is available in PDF and HTML formats.

Please Note: This resources is made available through the Traveler Statewide Resource project which is made possible by a grant from U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services to the Arkansas State Library under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to academic articles from core journals in the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and mathematics.
Full-text content is available in PDF format. Coverage provided in most cases back to a journal's first date of issue but most recently published issues are not available. UCA Library currently has access to JSTOR Arts and Sciences 1-14, Jewish Studies, and Life Sciences.