Nursing

If UCA has full-text access, a brief record of the article will display in the search results and provide a link for access. There maybe several records in your search result list and you will need to use the information provide to find the correct record. 

1. Article title and authors. 
2. Publishing details including date of article publication, name of the journal where the article was published, and issue/volume. 
3. If it is the correct article, use the Access Online button to see the list of databases where the article is available. If the article is only available on one database, you will see a View full text button which links directly to the full text of the article.​

When there is no full text available? 

If you are not seeing your article in the search results, the next step is to expand your search to Libraries Worldwide. Expanding your search will allow you to check that your citation information is correct and provide the option to obtain the full text through the library's interlibrary loan service. 

1. Expand your search by selecting Libraries Worldwide under Held by Library to the left of the search results. 
2. On the article's brief record you will see At other libraries worldwide which indicates that it is not available at UCA. 
3. If you have time and are interested in using the interlibrary loan service, click on the article title to open the detailed record. 
4. In the detailed record, use the Request Document Delivery or Interlibrary Loan button to submit an interlibrary loan request. 

To learn more about the interlibrary loan service, visit our interlibrary loan FAQ page.

If an item is not available through the UCA Library, UCA students, faculty, and staff can request it through interlibrary loan (ILL). Students can request when currently enrolled and classes are in session, and faculty or staff can request items at any time. The last semester day for students to request books or other physical items is posted on our interlibrary loan website. 

Quick Facts:

• On average, physical items arrive in 7-12 days, whereas electronic items such as articles may be available in 2-4 days. 
• Books or DVDS ready for your use can be checked out in-person at the Circulation Desk or scheduled for contactless locker delivery.
• Items can sometimes take longer due to availability, shipping, and the location of the lending library.
• Status updates are available in your library account. If you have questions or concerns, please email the ILL Office at ill@uca.edu.

Getting started

1. Visit our interlibrary loan website, and log into your library account using your myUCA username and password. The Interlibrary Loan FAQs on the ILL website include helpful introductory information.
2. We would suggest starting your research on the UCA Library website in order to find quality resources in an efficient way. You will discover items available through the UCA Library, as well as items to request from other libraries using the convenient Request Document Delivery or Interlibrary Loan button. Requests submitted through our library website take full advantage of the system’s capabilities, and may be received faster than manual requests. A Discovery search bar is provided on the library website front page, or you can search in specific databases through our A-Z Databases.
3. If you know the item you want to request, use the Discovery search bar on our library website to find the article or book title. For detailed search instructions, view How do I find a book using the Discovery search tool? If the item isn’t available through our library, then click to expand your search to Libraries Worldwide. 
4. Once you’ve located the article or book title with the correct year/citation information, click on the title and then click on the Request Document Delivery or Interlibrary Loan button. This will save you time, as the citation information will fill in automatically and then you can just click submit.
5. If the item isn’t searchable on the library website, access your library account and click the CREATE REQUEST button at the right. Manually enter the item information (title, author, journal title, publication date, etc.) and submit the request. If you need additional citation information, search the title at the website Worldcat.

Please note:

• We encourage you to continue to allow email notifications, as that's how you will know requested items are available. 
• For hard-to-find books or monographs, the library's Worldcat database provides additional search options. You can still click to Request via Interlibrary Loan and fill in citation information automatically. This database is also accessible through our library website's A-Z Databases icon.